Gallery

Me.

wpid-20141102_190448.jpg wpid-20141102_190505.jpg wpid-20141102_190452.jpg wpid-20141102_190426.jpg

My name is Amy and I am starting this blog not for everyone else, but as motivation for myself. I am a RN, a wife, and most importantly a mother to two busy toddler boys. I am always striving to improve upon my life and increase my health and wellness.

All my life I have struggled with my weight. Fortunately I have not had the difficulties that many people face of dealing with 50, 100, 200+ pounds of extra weight.  I have only a little over 30 pounds I would like to lose, but it is not just about the pounds.

That is why I am calling my blog my journey to health. I want to gain flexibility, strength, and energy. I need to be healthy for my kids. Instead of standing or sitting on the edge of the yard or playground I want to be with them running, jumping and playing without loosing my breath and getting tired. I want to eat a healthy meal, free of greasy food that makes me feel overfilled, tired and nauseous.

Years ago I worked at a company called Slimgenics, a weight loss program. Of course it has it’s own products to buy, but it mainly teaches you how to eat healthy. Decrease, if not altogether lose the processed foods. Eat fresh or frozen protein, veggies, fruit, starch and fat, all in balance of course.  I plan to use the base of this program as the base for my eating habits and my diet.

On top of gaining healthier eating habits, I plan on increasing my physical activity. I have a gym membership and I plan to use it to swim, do yoga, dance class and possibly try spin class. Not only will I workout at the gym but I plan to run, skip, jump and dance with my kids.

On November 3rd 2014 I am starting a new health and wellness journey. I am 5ft 4in and weigh 152 pounds, my chest is 36in, my waist 34in, hips 39in, and thighs 23in. I have great limitations to my strength and flexibility. Now starts a change in my life. If you are interested at all you can share in my journey and help to be my motivation.

Leave a comment